nanaxchrome.blogg.se

Cummins big cam 350 performance
Cummins big cam 350 performance








  1. #Cummins big cam 350 performance install
  2. #Cummins big cam 350 performance full

I found that if I shut it off for a minute or two it will start up and have normal power for a couple miles.:beatsme So I did this a few times, made it to the yard and parked it. I said to heck with it and jumped back in for the "slow ride" Well it ran great for a couple miles then fell back into its old tricks. I pulled over as soon as I could and shut it off to weigh my options. I dropped to 5 mph going up this hill with a line of traffic behind me, very embarrassing, especially when your name is plastered all over the doors. But I still had to get this one to my mechanic, about 20 miles away. I finally gave up and bought a different truck. very frustrating! I then dove into the fuel supply conspiracy and installed a auxiliary tank in the cab that is gravity fed. I luckily have very short equipment moves so I just dealt with driving 10 - 30 mph places.

cummins big cam 350 performance

just gutless and no power after about 5 miles. The silicone boot that connects the turbo was looking a little suspect so we replaced that and it seemed to help.for awhile, then it returned. The psi differential I was see was a difference in gauges. The problem returned again, We yanked the after cooler out and it was clean as a whistle. Report back on anything you find and I'm sure someone can offer more or better ideas. Now try driving the truck to see if you get good boost pressure and power. There should be a 1/4 line from the intake manifold to either the aneroid or fuel pump remove and plug the fitting at the manifold then us a small air regulator to supply the 30 psi. One more thing to try would be to put about 30psi to the aneroid if it is separate on this engine or to the fuel pump if it is internal. S-S3 Stage 3 Big Stick Cummins Camshaft gives you excellent performance, drivability, and is the most.

#Cummins big cam 350 performance full

Also should get the full pressure by hard acceleration. 1989 Cummins NTC350 Big Cam IV Diesel Engine. You will need to contact the pump shop to get the full load fuel pressure and you will need a hose long enough to reach cab so you can read the pressure while pulling a hill at full load. Should be an 1/8 inch pipe plug in fitting in lines leading to the front heads. This will help rule out a problem with the supply side.Īnother thing would be to check fuel pressure to the injectors.

#Cummins big cam 350 performance install

If still has bubbles see if you can install it at the tank. If you see bubble there move the sight gauge to the inlet to the fuel filter and again check for bubbles. I might start by removing the suction hose from the back of the fuel pump and make up a short 3-4 inch section of clear tubing to install betwee the pump and suction hose then run engine at high idle to see if there are air bubbles in the fuel. I am getting a vac until 1500 rpm then the turbo starts boosting and I will get 1lb at 2400 rpm with no load. 1985-95 Freightliner FLC120 with Cummins Big Cam NTC-350 Engine 1988-01 DFM Marine with CCEC.

cummins big cam 350 performance

I then took the intercooler off and its cleanĪs a whistle, aircleaner is new. This turbo is a high performance turbo for horsepower. But I had to start with the turbo, off it went back for inspection. This one lasted 3 weeks and its back to its same old game, this time I was quite suspicious of So that was an old turbo, probably on its last leg. Problem again, very sluggish, no power, naturally aspirated feeling. It lasted for about 2 weeks then I am having the same Of my old 290 cummins with 1,100,000 miles on it.problem solved! weee.no. Colt has worked long and hard on their camshaft profiles and has dyno'd over 50 different combination to give you the ultimate camshaft. No turbo boost was the problem, so I took another one off The Colt Cams C.343.S-S3 Stage 3 'Big Stick' Cummins Camshaft gives you excellent performance, drivability, and is the most popular Cummins Camshaft in the Colt Cams lineup. New fuel filters on it but figured this would be the easiest place to start. On my return trip it was still feeling sluggish with an empty trailer. This one is a '85 International S2200 with a Cummins big cam 350.Įarlier this summer I was cruisin along and the motor was feeling sluggish, didn't really like pulling the excavator up a hill.

cummins big cam 350 performance

The best mileage was an L8000 Ford that I used to have with a 8.3 Cummins 250 hp I got as much as 9.25 mpg driving exactly by the speed limit, but usually 8.75 to 9 mpg was the standard, so if you rebuild it keep us posted and please don't call them come apart, I have more faith on those old engines than any other, specially the new tech, my next truck will have a BCIII loaded to the gills.More truck problems. I love these motors and let me tell you how fuel efficient they are, down here where I live (Florida Keys) we go to Miami for all our loads,flat sea level ground second the best fuel mileage that we have experience here come from a Big Cam III 350, 378 Pete dump truck 8.5 mpg that's loaded one way with 70K lbs but consider that City driving, this truck has now over 2 million miles and 1.3 millions on the last inframe, still put 450 to 500 miles a day and only use a gallon of oil betwin oil change which the last four or five years have been at 20k miles, there are a few other trucks with them Big cams reporting 8 mpg, same roads same loads.










Cummins big cam 350 performance